Smelly pebbles…….and old Tup!

On a recent workshop at my dear friend Annie’s I met a lovely lady called Jane and her Mum – we were making Willow Chickens on that occasion –

Chatting, I discovered that Jane runs a thriving business over the Scottish (yeay) border supplying beautiful textiles and homeware to Galleries and online. She has the same ethics as me with regard to not wasting anything including all the off-cuts of lovely wool which are too small to do anything meaningful with but which would easily stuff a pebble – or three – She very kindly sent me a huge box of said off-cuts to try and I used some of them to make felt pebbles.

Initially I wrapped the scrunched-up wool material into a cone shape and bound it with wool, padding out the uneven structure with raw fleece (which is where the problem lies) and topping the lot off with Gotland tops cut with Shetland wool slubs. Then I decided I’d create a smooth surface by wet felting the lot – remember this is my first attempt!!!!!!!

Which is where the old Tup comes in! Three weeks later I still couldn’t bear to have it in the same room……….Apparently male sheep, in common with adolescent boys smell – must be all that testosterone – but, boy was it rich!

So today I went to see my friend Torrey who is experienced with using raw fleece – she’s (amongst other things) a spinner/weaver and uses her Mum’s Shetland fleece.  After a demonstration involving two buckets, a laundry bag and a non-chemical liquid I now feel ready to try myself.

Fingers crossed  Jane will soon receive her gift………..

Come and see my work 🙂

One thought on “Smelly pebbles…….and old Tup!

  1. You can definitely see your skills within the work you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

Leave a Reply

