Wool on the Wall

Went down to Greenhead yesterday to the Wool on the Wall Event which was really inspiring – plenty of information for those new to the wonders of wool with Thermafleece exhibits, weavers, spinners, peg-looms (I want one of these) and raw fleece for sale.

Woolclip, Natural Born Dyers, Ellie Langley and Eden Gotland Sheep were also amongst those exhibiting.

Nickie Kirkby who, with her husband John breeds Gotlands down at the bottom of Hartside is a lovely lady who has the softest Gotland tops I have ever seen – I am looking forward to going down to see her shortly to buy some washed fleece – She had a peg loom on her stand which I was riveted by – especially when I saw the effects possible with her glorious fleeces……..

Also there were Natural Born Dyers from Newcastle, a small indie business with the most amazing British-based suppliers of yarns and fibres all hand-dyed using natural dyes. The colours are just glorious and I wish I’d had more to spend there – but you can order on-line so that’s what I’ll be doing next week……

Ellie Langley from Fleece with Altitude had an amazing display of felted items from her own fleece from little covered notebooks to large rugs all in natural colours from cream to dark browns – I’m eager to see her stock and she does workshops at her home near Ireshopeburn.

Come and see my work 🙂

2 thoughts on “Wool on the Wall

Leave a Reply

